Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Virginia

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 10, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Virginia

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Virginia

In Virginia, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Report?

Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of Virginia must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a Virginia Annual Report

In Virginia, the annual report is filed with the State Corporate Commission. You can file online by visiting the Clerk’s Information System (CIS) website and taking the following steps. NOTE: If you don’t already have a CIS account, you will need to create one to file your annual report online.

  1. Log into the CIS portal and click on the Online Services link from the dashboard page.
  1. Under the Business Entities header, click the Annual Report link. Choose whether you want to file an annual report with or without changes.
  1. Next, look up your business entity to access, complete, and file your annual report.
  1. You may also pay your yearly $50 registration fee from the CIS portal. Click on the Pay Registration Fees link at the top of the dashboard page and look up your business name to access the payment portal.

If you prefer to file your annual report by mail, request a paper form through the State Corporate Commission website and mail a copy to:

Virginia State Corporation Commission
P.O. Box 1197
Richmond, VA 23218

In Virginia, annual reports and registration fees are due every year on the last business day of the month in which you started your business. For example, if your business anniversary is May 15th, your annual report will be due each year on May 31st.

The penalty for filing late is $25. If you fail to file your annual report by the fourth month following your due date, the state of Virginia will revoke your privilege to do business in the state. 

state map of virginia, usa

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the annual registration fee in Virginia is $50. There is no fee for filing the annual report.

What Happens After I File my Virginia Annual Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in Virginia, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.