Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Utah

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 11, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Utah

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Utah

In Utah, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Report?

Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of Utah must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a Utah Annual Report

In Utah, the annual report is filed with the Department of Commerce. You can file online by visiting the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code website and taking the following steps. 

  1. At the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code website homepage, click Renew a Business.
  1. Enter your entity number or Access ID and search for your business record.
  2. Follow the prompts and complete the form. 
  3. Pay the $18 fee and file your report.

Alternatively, you can download a paper form and submit a hard copy of your annual report.


Submit your completed paperwork and a check for your filing fee to:

Utah Division of Corporations & Commercial Code
PO Box 146705
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6705 

In Utah, annual reports are due every year on the date on which you started your business. The penalty for filing late is $10, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is the potential dissolution of your LLC. 

utah state capitol, usa

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in Utah is $18. 

What Happens After I File my Utah Annual Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in Utah, so it’s critical that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.