Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Oregon

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 19, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Oregon

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Oregon

In Oregon, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report, also referred to in Oregon as a renewal report, with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Report?

Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing. 

businessman working on his computer

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of Oregon must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File an Oregon Annual Report

In Oregon, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State, and filing is only available online. You can file by visiting Oregon’s Business Registry page and taking the following steps. 

  1. Provide a contact email address.
  1. Identify your business’s registry number. 
  1. Click the retrieval button near the bottom of the page.
  1. Carefully review and verify:
    1. Your LLC’s name, office address, email, and phone number
    2. A short description of your business’s main purpose or activity
    3. That your LLC was formed in Oregon
    4. The name and address of your business’s registered agent
    5. The name and address of at least one member or manager of your LLC
  2. Provide your business title and sign the annual report. 
  3. To finish, pay the $100 filing fee and file your report.

In Oregon, annual reports are due every year on the date you started your business. The penalty for filing late occurs after 45 days and results in your business being labeled “inactive” and liable to be dissolved. If you fail to file an annual report altogether, your business will be administratively dissolved within five years.  

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in Oregon is $100. 

What Happens After I File my Oregon Annual Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or a confirmation email with a receipt that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in Oregon, so it’s critical that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.