In North Dakota, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date.
What Is an Annual Report?
Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.
Who Needs to File an Annual Report?
Any business that is legally registered with the state of North Dakota must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business.
How to File a North Dakota Annual Report
In North Dakota, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the First Stop website and taking the following steps.
- Go to First Stop website, click file annual report, and then enter your business name.
- Fill out the annual report form
- Pay the $50 fee and file your report
To file by mail, you’ll fill out the form the same way. Just click “print and mail” instead of file, and mail the form, along with the $50 fee, to:
Secretary of State
State of North Dakota
600 E Boulevard Avenue Dept 108
Bismarck ND 58505-0500
In North Dakota, annual reports are due every year by November 15th. The penalty for filing late is $50, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is the termination of the LLC.
As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in North Dakota is $50.
What Happens After I File my North Dakota Annual Report?
After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.
Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in North Dakota, so it’s critical that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.