Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Report in New Hampshire

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 19, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Report in New Hampshire

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Report in New Hampshire

In New Hampshire, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Report?

Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing. 

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of New Hampshire must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a New Hampshire Annual Report

In New Hampshire, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the Secretary of State website and taking the following steps. 

  1. Go to the File an Annual Report webpage.
  1. If you have to make changes to your business or principal information, click File Online under the File an Annual Report with NH Quickstart heading. And if you don’t already have an NH Quickstart account, you’ll need to create one to file online.
  2. If you have no changes to make, click File Online underneath the One Click Annual Report heading.
  1. Search for your business by entering your business name or ID number and click the Continue button to move through the annual report form.
  2. Pay the $100 fee and file your report. Note that there is an additional $2 fee for filing online.

Alternatively, you can request a paper form by sending an email to [email protected] or calling 603-271-8200.

Mail your completed form, $100 fee, and documentation to:

Corporation Division
NH Department of State
107 N. Main St.
Concord, NH 03301-4989

In New Hampshire, annual reports are due by April 1st each year. The penalty for filing late is $50, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is potential dissolution of your LLC. 

closeup view state map of new hampshire, usa

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in New Hampshire is $100 with an additional $2 for filing online. 

What Happens After I File my New Hampshire Annual Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in New Hampshire, so it’s critical that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.