Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an Annual Report in Missouri

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 18, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an Annual Report in Missouri

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an Annual Report in Missouri

In Missouri, your LLC is not legally required to file an annual report with the state, but corporations are. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Report?

Your corporation must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing. 

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Any corporation that is legally registered with the state of Missouri must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a Missouri Annual Report

In Missouri, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the business online portal and taking the following steps. 

  1. Go to the business online portal and log in to your account
  2. Fill out the annual report form
  3. Pay the $10 fee plus a $1.25 credit card fee and file your report  

You cannot file your annual report by mail. You can only file online.

If you have any questions you can call (573) 751-4936.

In Missouri, for corporations incorporated or qualified on or after July 1, 2003, the annual report is due at the end of the month that the corporation incorporated or qualified. For corporations existing prior to July 1, 2003, the annual report will be due at the end of the month indicated on their last annual report. 

The penalty for filing late is $15 per 30 days, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is the administrative dissolution of your corporation. 

missouri state flag and map, usa

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual corporation report in Missouri is $10 plus a $1.25 credit card fee. 

What Happens After I File my Missouri Annual Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual report is not a requirement for LLCs in Missouri, but it is a requirement for corporations, so it’s critical that you take the time to file for your corporation. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.