In Mississippi, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date.
What Is an Annual Report?
Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.
Who Needs to File an Annual Report?
Any business that is legally registered with the state of Mississippi must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business.
How to File a Mississippi Annual Report
In Mississippi, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the business services website and taking the following steps.
- Go to the business services website and log in to your account.
- Fill out the annual report form.
- File your report. There is no fee.
To file by mail, you can print the form from your account and mail it to:
P.O. Box 136
Jackson, MS 39205-0136
In Mississippi, annual reports are due every year by April 15th. The penalty for filing late is $0, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is the dissolution of the LLC.
As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in Mississippi is $0.
What Happens After I File my Mississippi Annual Report?
After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.
Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in Mississippi, so it’s critical that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.