Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Statement in Michigan

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 10, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Statement in Michigan

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Statement in Michigan

In Michigan, your LLC is legally required to file an annual statement with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Statement?

Your LLC must file an annual statement, known as an annual report in most states, with your state to keep your company in good standing. 

Who Needs to File an Annual Statement?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of Michigan must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a Michigan Annual Statement

In Michigan, the annual statement is filed with the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. You can file online by visiting the corporations online filing system and taking the following steps. 

  1. Go to the corporations online filing system and log in to your account
  2. Fill out the annual statement form
  3. Pay the $75 fee and file your report  

To file by mail, you can fill out your form on the same system, print it, and mail it, along with the $75 fee, to:

Ottawa Building
611 W. Ottawa
P.O. Box 30004
Lansing, MI 48909

Phone:  517-241-9223

In Michigan, annual statements are due every year on February 15th. The penalty for filing late is $50. Failure to file the annual statement will result in your company no longer being in good standing after two years and your business name becoming available. 

michigan state map of united states of america

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC statement in Michigan is $75. 

What Happens After I File my Michigan Annual Statement?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual statement is a requirement for LLCs in Michigan, so it’s critical that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.