In Louisiana, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date.
What Is an Annual Report?
Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.
Who Needs to File an Annual Report?
Any business that is legally registered with the state of Louisiana must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business.
How to File a Louisiana Annual Report
In Louisiana, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the geauxBIZ website and taking the following steps.
- Go to the geauxBIZ website and log in to your account
- Fill out the annual report form
- Pay the $30 fee plus a $5 credit card fee and file your report
If you choose to file by mail, you can print the form from the same website and mail it, along with only a $30 fee, to:
Louisiana Secretary of State
P.O. Box 94125
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-912
In Louisiana, annual reports are due every year on the date you started your business. The penalty for filing late is $0, but the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is dissolution of the LLC.
As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in Louisiana is $30 plus a $5 credit card charge if you file online, or $30 if you file by mail.
What Happens After I File my Louisiana Annual Report?
After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.
Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in Louisiana, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.