In Kansas, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date.
What Is an Annual Report?
Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.
Who Needs to File an Annual Report?
Any business that is legally registered with the state of Kansas must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business.
How to File a Kansas Annual Report
In Kansas, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the secretary of state’s website and taking the following steps.
- Go to the secretary of state’s website and fill in your business name and ID number.
- Fill out the annual report form
- Pay the $55 fee and file your report
If you choose to file by mail, you can download the form and mail it, along with the $55 fee, to:
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 S.W. 10th Avenue
Topeka, KS 66612-1594
In Kansas, annual reports are due every year by April 15th. The penalty for filing late is $0, while the penalty for failing to register a report for 90 days or more is forfeiture of the LLC.
As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in Kansas is $55.
What Happens After I File my Kansas Annual Report?
After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.
Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in Kansas, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.