In Colorado, your LLC is legally required to file a periodic report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date.
What Is a Periodic Report?
Your LLC must file a periodic report, known as an annual report in most states and also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.
Who Needs to File a Periodic Report?
Any business that is legally registered with the state of Colorado must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business.
How to File a Colorado Periodic Report
In Colorado, the periodic report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the secretary of state’s website and taking the following steps.
- Go to the secretary of state’s website and do a search for your business
- Fill out the periodic report form
- Pay the $10 fee and file your report
You cannot file your periodic report by mail. You can only file online.
If you need any assistance you can contact the secretary of state’s office at:
In Colorado, periodic reports are due every year on the date you started your business. The penalty for filing late is $50, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is the dissolution of the LLC.
As mentioned above, the fee for filing an LLC periodic report in Colorado is $10.
What Happens After I File my Colorado Periodic Report?
After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.
Filing a periodic report is a requirement for LLCs in Colorado, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.