Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Statement of Information in California

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 18, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Statement of Information in California

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Statement of Information in California

In California, your LLC is legally required to file a statement of information with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is a Statement of Information?

Your LLC must file a statement of information, known as an annual report in most states, with your state to keep your company in good standing. 

Who Needs to File a Statement of Information?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of California must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a California Statement of Information

In California, the statement of information is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the secretary of state’s website and taking the following steps. 

  1. Go to the secretary of state’s website and enter your business name or file number
  2. Fill out the statement of information form
  3. Pay the $20 fee and file your report  

If you choose to file by mail, you can download the form and mail it, along with the $20 filing fee, to:

Secretary of State Business Programs Division

Business Entities

1500 11th Street

Sacramento, CA 95814 or 

P.O. Box 944260, Sacramento, CA 94244-260

Phone (916) 657–5448

In California, statements of information are due every two years within 90 days of the date you started your business. The penalty for filing late is $250, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is suspension of the LLC. 

state map of california and usa national flag

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an LLC statement of information in California is $20. 

What Happens After I File my California Statement of Information?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing a statement of information is a requirement for LLCs in California, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.