Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Franchise Tax Report in Arkansas

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 18, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Franchise Tax Report in Arkansas

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Franchise Tax Report in Arkansas

In Arkansas, your LLC is legally required to file an annual franchise tax report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Franchise Tax Report?

Your LLC must file an annual franchise tax report, known as an annual report in most states and also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing. 

Who Needs to File an Annual Franchise Tax Report?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of Arkansas must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File an Arkansas Annual Franchise Tax Report

In Arkansas, the annual franchise tax report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the secretary of state’s website and taking the following steps. 

  1. Go to secretary of state’s website and enter your file number and tax id number 
  2. Fill out the annual franchise tax form
  3. Pay the $150 fee and file your report  

If you choose to file by mail, you can download the form and mail it, along with the $150 filing fee, to:

Business and Commercial Services

P.O. Box 8014

Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

Phone: 501-682-3409

In Arkansas, annual franchise tax reports are due every year by May 1st. The penalty for filing late is $25 plus interest, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is the dissolution of your LLC. 

pinned map of arkansas, usa

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an LLC annual franchise tax report in Arkansas is $150.  

What Happens After I File my Arkansas Annual Franchise Tax Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual franchise tax report is a requirement for LLCs in Arkansas, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.