Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Report in West Virginia

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 9, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Report in West Virginia

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Report in West Virginia

In West Virginia, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Report?

Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing. 

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of West Virginia must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a West Virginia Annual Report

In West Virginia, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the WV One Stop Business Portal and taking the following steps. 

  1. If you don’t have an online account, click “Guest Annual Report Filing” to access the form. If you have an account, log in to the WV One Stop Business Portal. From the dashboard, click SOS Annual Report under the Frequently Used Filing Options heading.


  2. Next, access your company record by entering in your business name or Organization ID number.
  1. After pulling up your business records, follow the rest of the prompts to complete the form.
  2. Pay the $25 fee and file your report.

In West Virginia, annual reports must be filed and paid by July 1st each year, starting the first year after your business was registered. The penalty for filing late is $50, while the penalty for failing to register a report altogether is a potential revoking of your business privileges in West Virginia. 

state flag and map of west virginia, usa

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in West Virginia is $25. 

What Happens After I File my West Virginia Annual Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in West Virginia, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.