Back to Annual Report Guides

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Vermont

Written by:

Edited by:

Reviewed by: Daniel Javor

Published on July 10, 2022

Updated on November 20, 2022

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Vermont

Disclaimer: Step by Step Business’ content is for informational and educational purposes only. It’s not intended to be a substitute for professional legal or tax advice. All of our articles are thoroughly reviewed and fact-checked by our editorial team. Read our editorial guidelines for more details.

Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

How to File an LLC Annual Report in Vermont

In Vermont, your LLC is legally required to file an annual report with the state. Failure to do so can lead to fines and even the closure of your business, so it’s crucial that you stay up-to-date. 

What Is an Annual Report?

Your LLC must file an annual report, also known as a statement of information, with your state to keep your company in good standing.

Who Needs to File an Annual Report?

Any business that is legally registered with the state of Vermont must file this report, which includes detailed information about your business. 

How to File a Vermont Annual Report

In Vermont, the annual report is filed with the Secretary of State. You can file online by visiting the Secretary of State website and taking the following steps. If you don’t already have an online account, you’ll need to create one before filing your annual report online.

  1. From the Business Services webpage, click File Annual Report and log in with your Online Services portal credentials.
  1. Once you’re logged in, click File your Annual/Biennial Report from the left side menu.
  1. Search for your business by entering your business name or ID number and then move through the rest of the prompts to complete the form.
  1. Pay the $35 fee and file your report.

If you wish to file by mail, send a paper copy along with a check for your filing fee to:

Vermont Secretary of State
Corporations Division
128 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-1104

In Vermont, annual reports are due within three months after the end of your business fiscal year as determined when you filed your articles of organization. For example, if your fiscal year ends on December 31st, you’ll need to file your annual report between January 1st and March 31st. 

If you fail to file within your three-month window, the state may move your business into a terminated status. Should this happen, you’ll need to pay a $25 reinstatement fee and catch up on all late filings.

state map of vermont, usa

Filing Fee

As mentioned above, the fee for filing an annual LLC report in Vermont is $35. 

What Happens After I File my Vermont Annual Report?

After you file your report, you will receive a notification of any errors or omissions, or confirmation that your report has been filed. If you receive a notification, it’s crucial that you respond quickly and address any errors in order to avoid penalties.  

Conclusion

Filing an annual report is a requirement for LLCs in Vermont, so it’s crucial that you take the time to accurately fill out the form and file with your state in a timely manner. This will ensure your company is allowed to operate uninterrupted and with no legal penalties.